Professor Catherine J. Murphy and Chancellor Robert Jones have been elected fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Election to the American Academy is an honor that acknowledges the best of all scholarly fields and professions. Among the academy's more than 200 other new fellows are former first lady Michelle Obama, Professor Susan Goldman, co-director of University of Illinois at Chicago's Learning Sciences Research Institute and professor of psychology. They will be inducted October during ceremonies at the academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.