University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Illinois Materials Research Science and Engineering Center
News Card Image
Inspiring the Next Generation: Tour of the Illinois’ Materials Research Laboratory

5/1/2024 ·

"I love doing outreach and showing students cool things about the world. The reason why I got into science was because I wanted to understand why cool things happened, and now here I am, getting a PhD."

News Card Image
Five Illinois Students Honored with Goldwater Scholarships

4/8/2024 ·

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. — University of Illinois students Sylvia E, Daniel Feng, Alice Gao, Amelia Korveziroska and Riley Trendler were awarded Barry M. Goldwater scholarships for their potential to contribute to the advancement of research in the natural sciences, mathematics or engineering.

News Card Image
IMRSEC IRG1 Co-Lead Arend van der Zande Named Associate Editor of ACS Nano Letters

12/11/2023 ·

MechSE Associate Professor Arend van der Zande has begun a new role as an Associate Editor for the journal ACS Nano Letters. This prestigious journal reports original results on fundamental, applied and emerging research in all areas of nanoscience and nanotechnology that should be disseminated and publicized quickly. Its editors comprise a cross-section of some of the most influential scientists in nanotechnology.

News Card Image
I-MRSEC Investigator Professor Axel Hoffmann Ranks Among World's Most Influential Researchers

11/15/2023 ·

Hoffmann is a Founder Professor in materials science and engineering and a member of the Materials Research Laboratory. His research focuses on topics related to magnetism, such as spin transport, magnetization dynamics and biomedical applications. His work on spin Hall effects has contributed to developing spintronics, electronic devices that harness electron spin for faster and more efficient computing. Hoffmann is a Fellow of the American Vacuum Society, the American Physical Society and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

News Image
André Schleife doesn’t just talk the talk. He jumps into action, bringing STEM education to underrepresented groups and teaching outside the box. The airplane enthusiast explains why you shouldn’t overthink your next steps and why he designed a machine-learning class focused on bowties.
11/1/2023 ·
“While diversity and inclusivity are important in wider society, we can directly address how to work toward a more diverse student population through our departmental efforts, too.” — André Schleife
News Image
Pinshane Huang is a photographer. Her camera—an electron microscope. Her subject—individual atoms.
10/1/2023 ·
Huang loves teaching freshman and seeing her students blossom scientifically and then leave as people she has a lot of respect for. “They’re incredible thinkers, incredible doers. And I know that whenever they leave, they’re going to have a huge impact on the world,” Huang says. To younger students, she advises that the people around you are the most important thing. If you can surround yourself with great collaborators, great people to learn from and work with, then that is worth more than any textbook you can find.
News Image
9/6/2023 ·
The discovery of how light is absorbed by materials has given rise to technology like solar cells, radiation detectors and LEDs. Nicola Perry, associate professor of Materials Science & Engineering, explains how researchers are working to understand exactly how light changes or causes ion movement in materials, opening up entirely new possibilities for what materials can do.
News Image
7/5/2023 ·
The Illinois Materials Research Science and Engineering Center, or MRSEC, at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign has been funded for an additional six years. The center’s interdisciplinary research will continue with two new focuses at the cutting edge of materials science, and outreach and education activities will continue work to develop a STEM pipeline and foster community among researchers, students and the public.
News Image
The UIUC Talkshow #25
12/2/2022 ·
Arend van der Zande is a Mechanical Engineering professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign where he focuses on nanomaterials research. Dr. van der Zande is known for his work on nanomaterials research, and in this conversation, he will share his insights on the field and his unique approach to research.